The Danube
Danube and Europe
Living Force

Honorary Committee: Religious

His Excellency Josip Bozanic
Archbishop of Zagreb

His Grace The Most Revd & Rt Hon Dr George L. Carey
Archbishop of Canterbury

His Eminence Roger Cardinal Etchegaray
President of the Central Committee of the Holy Year 2000 - Vatican

The Most Revd Rabbi Dr Arthur Hertzberg
World Jewish Congress

His Excellency Manfred Kock
Evangelical Church of Germany

His Eminence Cardinal Jan Chryzostom Korec
S.I Bishop of Nitra

His Excellency Professor Dr Dr Karl Lehmann
Bishop of Mainz

His Beatitude Patriarch Maxim
of Sofia and All Bulgaria

His Eminence Cardinal Laszlo Paskai, O.F.M.
Archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest

His Beatitude Patriarch Pavle
of Belgrade and All Serbia

His Eminence Christoph Cardinal Schönborn
Archbishop of Vienna

His Excellency Dr Mohamed Sayed Tantawi
The Highest Iman & Sheikh El Azhar

His Beatitude Patriarch Teoctist
of Bucharest and All Romania

Honorary Committee: Lay

HH Prince Sadruddin Aga Khan
President of the Bellerive Foundation

Mr Selahaddin BeyazitDirector of Companies

HE the Honorable Al GoreThe Vice President of the United States of America

Professor Dr Hc Wolfgang HaberUniversity of Munich

Dr Otto von HabsburgMember of the European Parliament

Mr Frederico MajorPresident, UNESCO

Mr Mark Malloch Brown
Administrator, UNDP

Professor George Mitsopoulos
President of the Academy of Athens

Prince El Hassan Bin Talal of Jordan

Professor Dr Klaus TopferExecutive Director, UNEP

Ms Margot WallströmEU Commissioner for the Environment and Nuclear Safety

Mr James WolfensonPresident of the World Bank

Religious and Scientific Committee

Honorary Chair

The Most Revd Metropolitan John of Pergamon
B.D., S.T.M., Dr Theol. D.Theol Hc

Executive Chair

Dr Wolfgang Stalzer
President of the International Commission for the Protection of the Danube River


Professor Daniel Amit
Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Mr Grigore Baboianu
Executive Director of the Danube Delta Biosphere Reserve Authority

Dr Zaki Badawi
Principal of the Muslim College, London

Mr Joachim Bendow
UNDP/GEF Project Manager, Danube Pollution Reduction Programme

The Rt Revd & Rt Hon Richard JC Chartres
Lord Bishop of London

Mr Dumitru Drumea
National Institute of Ecology, Moldova

Dr Charles N Ehler
Director of Office of Ocean Resources, Conservation & Assessment, USA

Dr Stjepan Keckes
Consultant on Marine Affairs, Croatia

Sister Marjorie Keenan
Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace, Vatican

Dr Graeme Kelleher
Vice President of the Com. on National Parks & Protected Areas, Australia

Mr Nikolai Kouyumdzhiev
Water Protection Department, Bulgaria

HE Ambassador Zivorad Kovacevic
Former Mayor of Belgrade, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

Dr Mikulas J Lisicky
Academy of Sciences, Slovakia

Professor Inessa Loeva
Environmental Protection for the Odessa Region, Ukraine

Professor Jane Lubchenco
Valley Professor of Marine Biology, Oregon State University, USA

Professor Laurence D. Mee
Plymouth Environmental Research Centre, University of Plymouth, UK

Professor Erdal Ozhan
Chairman of MEDCOAST, Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Professor Nicholas Panin
National Institute of Marine Geology and Geo-ecology, Romania

Mr Richard Stadler
Deputy Director of the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Austria

Mr Janos Vargha
President of the East European Environmental Research Institute

Mr Philip Weller
Green Danube Programme, WWF International

Special Advisors

Mr Neal Ascherson
Writer, UK

Mr John Bennett
Environmental Lawyer, USA / Ireland

Dr Michael von Berg
Federal Ministry for the Environment, Germany

Professor Patricia Birnie
Visiting Fellow, London School of Economics, UK & Former Director, IMO International Marine Law Institute, Malta UK

The Revd John Chryssavgis
Boston, USA

Ms Maria Galambos
Ministry for Environment and Regional Policy, Hungary

Mr Edward Goldsmith
Founder and Editor of the 'Ecologist', UK

Dr Robert Lange
Associate Professor of Physics, Brandeis University, USA

Dr Graham Topping
Director TOPSEA Ltd., UK